The Month Ahead


What a rather interesting April it was!  I feel like I didn’t get a heck of a lot accomplished, either with reading or posting on the blog.  It was quite a hectic April, all things being considered, more so than I expected.  This month, it is my hope to get back on track with daily postings here, as well as making more progress with my reading.

While the Stanley Cup Playoffs are in full swing, for the rest of the month, it is my hope and desire to complete Karl Marx’s Capital Volume II and begin reading Arabian Nights.  With April being busy, I have hit a bit of a rut with reading, but my drive is still there to complete the penultimate book of my “Marx Reading Challenge.”  The intent is to have the reading challenge completed by the end of the summer, leaving me time for the rest of the year to tackle the remaining books that are on my list to read.

Capital Volume II is not as difficult as the first volume is, but it’s very much in the weeds and much more theoretical.  Some of the concepts are pretty deep, but, for the most part, I’m glad to see that I’ve been able to understand most of them.  One thing’s for sure, I’ll definitely be taking a brief break after I complete my reading of the second volume before tackling the final volume of the work.  Get in a little fiction and let my mind relax for a bit of the summer.

Aside from reading, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs, I have some work I need to get done here at the house, specifically some lawn work, and a couple of interior home improvement projects that will take up some time.  I’m definitely looking forward to the summer and a bit of time off from work, but we’ll see how things develop.

Any big reading plans for the upcoming month?  I’d love to hear about them!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “The Month Ahead”

  1. I haven’t planned out the month of May completely. It’s all I can do to plan things week by week! LOL

    When I do my Monday Memes post, I usually list what I’m doing for the week.

    I did do April’s monthly wrap-up in my salon post.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. I’m doing the Classics Circuit in May –

    http://classics.rebeccareid.com/2011/04/the-dueling-authors-sign-up/

    Austen vs. Dickens!! (I choose Austen.) I’m reading/posting on Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion. I’m probably reading Sense and Sensibility too, but I only signed upo for the first two titles.

    Also, I think I’m going to do a second reread of the Bible over the next few years, this time studying the NIV Archaeological Study Bible by Walter C. Kaiser Jr.

    I love that it will come with so much history. I’m thinking I give myself three years for this, to really drink it in.

Leave a Reply

