Coming To A Library Near You – Kindle


I was thrilled the other day when I saw this article on USA Today’s website, “Amazon To Launch Library Lending For Kindle Books.”  Essentially, it appears that libraries will soon have the ability to lend e-books to owners of Kindle e-reading devices.  Currently, from my research on e-readers, only the Sony and Barnes and Noble e-readers have this capability.

In my previous post about the Kindle, I indicated my desire to take the plunge toward e-reading, which I’m planning on doing here in the next couple of weeks.  I’ve hesitated for a number of reasons from buying a Kindle, but this latest news has definitely tipped the scales for me for purchasing a Kindle.

I know a few people who do own the Sony and Nook e-readers, but I’m not sure what their experience has been with borrowing e-books from their local libraries.  I’m very curious as to how this functionality works, and if it works well for those who take advantage of it.  I’m not even sure how much I’d even use the functionality since I’d much rather own books than borrow them.  However, once I begin using an e-reader, my opinion might change.

Do you own an e-reader?  Have you ever taken advantage of the library’s offerings of borrowing e-books?  I’d love to hear about your experiences!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “Coming To A Library Near You – Kindle”

  1. I’d still go with Barnes & Noble. Amazon is evil…

    …and no, B & N isn’t. At least, not yet :).

    • I’ve been doing some additional reading on B&N’s Nook. I also have heard that they might be coming out with a new device. However, I’m still leaning toward a Kindle because of its ability to organize books quite well, unless the Nook has that feature. I haven’t been able to find anything yet though. 🙂

  2. I have a kindle, and as unfinishedperson mentioned, there are people out there that think that Amazon is evil. Personally I think that Microsoft is evil, but that is another story. But, anyway I like my kindle. The only think that I did not like is that you could not borrow from the library and like you mentioned now that is going to be able to happen. Me, I think you should get a kindle and that is not just because I would be able to borrow your books from it.

  3. I don’t have a Kindle because I don’t know if I can part with the tactile joy of a real book. But I love the idea of libraries allowing you to borrow on one. I don’t use my library as much as I should because the idea of 100s of fingers that where covered with god-knows-what touching the same book kind of creeps me out lol. It would be great to borrow ebooks and not have to worry about getting to the library in time to return too.

    • I used to think that as well about ebooks. However, I don’t have enough space in my house these days for the additional books. So if I wish to continue feeding my reading habit, I need to get on the e-reading bandwagon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

