Reading, The Stanley Cup Playoffs & Spring


Happy Easter everyone!  This Easter Sunday I find myself wrought with distractions from my reading, in particular the Stanley Cup Playoffs.  More specifically, the Capitals first round series against the Rangers, which concluded yesterday with a Capitals series victory.  While I had the games as a distraction from reading, I did manage to get a couple of chapters of Karl Marx’s Capital Volume II read.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m currently on Part II of Capital Volume II.  So far, it has been just as detailed as the previous part, with the discussion being mostly in the weeds of capitalist thought and activity.  This week, I’ll be looking at completing Part II of Capital Volume II.  As I’ve already mentioned, it’s much more difficult than the previous volume is, but I’m finding it to be a bit of a quicker read than the first volume.  That fact I might not have a companion/commentary to read along with it might be a contributing factor as well.

Also, with spring in full bloom, I’m looking forward to getting some time to read outside, in particular, at a park nearby my home.  It’s a very nice and quiet park near a lake.  I enjoy spending some time there to get away from all the noise and tv, and it provides a pretty nice place to read.  Especially when it’s not super hot and humid outside.

I’m looking forward to a great spring of reading, hockey, and great weather.  Do you find spring to be a good time for reading?  If so, do you like to get outdoors to read with nice weather?  How about other distractions during the spring and the way they effect your reading time?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Reading, The Stanley Cup Playoffs & Spring”

  1. Enjoy your reading! Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. I LOVE reading outside. My favourite location is a sidewalk cafe with plenty of shade on a sunny day, iced latte by my side and some soft jazz in the background. Ahhhh. I love spring and summer! I have been SO distracted lately. Mainly by worries and things that are nothing to do with spring at all. But now the MLB is back on…. I may have a little less time for reading 😉

Leave a Reply

