1/2 Marathons & Reading – What A Week!


Half marathons?  What’s that got to do with reading?  Well, actually nothing, except the fact that a half marathon hindered my reading time for the week.  This afternoon, I’m obviously quite sore, from having ran the Charlottesville, VA half-marathon yesterday morning.  The race started at 0630 and I managed to complete it in 2 hours 24 minutes.  A 10 minute improvement from my Baltimore half marathon time from this past October.  I’m quite pleased with the effort, and the time, and am looking forward to a couple of days off from physical activity while I recover.

I’m pleased that I managed to complete two books this week, Bill O’Reilly’s Pinheads and Patriots and Steven Levitt’s Freakonomics.  I’m also about half-way completed with my reading of Steven Levitt’s Superfreakonomics.

My goals this week are to complete my reading of Superfreakonomics and to resume my Marx Reading Challenge by beginning my reading of Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume II.  Yes, it’s time that I begin and complete book 3 of 4 of my challenge.  Reading will definitely be a good thing to help me get over the soreness just a bit.

I’m glad I ran my second half marathon yesterday, and I found it to be a good distraction and a good break from all the reading I’ve done recently.  The weather was nice, the track was nice, aside from a steep steep hill for about a mile.  Do you like having some distractions from reading?  What types of other activities do you partake in to break up reading?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “1/2 Marathons & Reading – What A Week!”

  1. Congratulations on running your second 1/2 marathon!

    I enjoyed FREAKONOMICS, but haven’t yet picked ups SUPERFREAKONOMICS … hope you’re enjoying it.

    Breaks from reading? Reading is my break from life!

  2. Congrats on the marathon…and you had a good reading week, too.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

Leave a Reply

