My Thoughts On Freakonomics


This evening I completed my reading of Steven D. Levitt’s Freaknomics.  I couldn’t believe how quick of a read this book actually is.  It was also a short read of a little more than 200 pages.

Freakonomics is definitely one of the more different economics books I’ve ever read.  It definitely explores a different side of economics that I didn’t consider before.  For example, while I figured there was cheating in sumo wrestling, it was something that I really didn’t give too much thought too.

The same would go for the correlation between how well kids do based on what their parents name them.  While I definitely could see how socioeconomic status plays a large role in how successful kids are, I really didn’t give much thought to how those socioeconomic factors went into naming children.

I also enjoyed the fact that Freakonomics didn’t really have a unifying theme and addressed various aspects of economics.  For example drug dealing.  I didn’t know very much about it, obviously, but found the whole economics of it, and the status of those within the drug ring to be quite a fascinating discussion in the book.

In the end, I found Freaknomics to be an interesting and fun read, and would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in seeing a different side of economics.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 1/2 Marathons & Reading – What A Week! | Beltwayliterature - April 10, 2011

    […] two books this week, Bill O’Reilly’s Pinheads and Patriots and Steven Levitt’s Freakonomics.  I’m also about half-way completed with my reading of Steven Levitt’s […]

Leave a Reply

