My Thoughts On Pride and Prejudice


Just a few moments ago, I managed to complete my reading of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  It has been a rather quick read, but I found it to be quite fascinating!

Just the insights into cultural/societal norms by reading this book were astounding!  You could definitely see between the lines the prejudices the different classes had for one another.  There are also a few other items in the book that I found surprising.

For starters, how weak of a character I thought Mr. Bennet was.  He didn’t seem to have any backbone at all.  Just seemed to give into Mrs. Bennet’s whims and desires for the most part, and kept quite the distance from her.  You could definitely tell he really didn’t care for her very much.

Regarding Mrs. Bennet, I found her to be very conniving, sneaky, and underhanded.  While it was stated very early on that she desired to marry her five daughters off, due to the entailment of their estate, she stopped at no end to ensure those goals were met, no matter who’s toes she had to step on to accomplish those goals.  That type of character reminds me so much of some people I’ve come across over the years.

I definitely thought Austen did a very good job of describing how much pride and prejudice can cloud people’s judgments of one another.  Even at the conclusion of the book, prejudices were still abound between certain individuals that will probably remain unresolved no matter if the rifts are repaired.

Finally, I loved how I got to see the development of both Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth’s characters throughout the novel.  You could tell, through their various interactions throughout the story, that they were slowly gravitating toward one another and that their respective opinions were changing.  I found the character growth to be quite stimulating.

While I enjoyed the sunny setting of Emma, I definitely enjoyed the undertones of Pride and Prejudice more.  It was easier to see what Austen was getting at here, although, another reading may be in order to see if I pick up any additional tidbits that I may have missed.  Definitely a great read to distract me from my Marx Reading Challenge, and big kudos to my wife for suggesting it!

Have your read Pride and Prejudice?  What did you think about it?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “My Thoughts On Pride and Prejudice”

  1. Sadly, I’ve never read any Austen. Is Pride and Prejudice a good place to start with her?

  2. I’m popping this one open tonight, finally. It’s been a busy week.

    I’m ecstatic that you liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

