It’s Library Time!


Earlier in the week, I received an email from my public library that a few books I had put on hold had finally come in.  And what perfect timing as well!  As I’m just a few short pages away from completing my journey with Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, I can begin to tackle these books before they’re due at the library in a short three weeks.

The three books I managed to check out are:

  • Pinheads and Patriots by Bill O’Reilly which is on my 2011 goals list
  • Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner which I mentioned in my additional readings inspired by reading Marx post
  • Super Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner which is also mentioned in my additional readings inspired by reading Marx post

As a result of these books being ready for me to checkout from the library, I will be tackling these three books after my reading of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

As I’ve mentioned, Pinheads and Patriots is a book listed in my goals of books to read for this year; however, Freakonomics and Super Freakonomics are not.  I think it’s definitely nice that I’ve found a few books to read outside of my goals list for this year, especially when they catch my eye.  It allows me to broaden my perspective for any particular topic, but it also means that I’m not completely zoned in with only reading what I’ve set to read.  I’m definitely willing to take any tangent if I find something that strikes my fancy.

That’s one of the things I find fascinating with reading, you don’t need to have a set road map and you can go wherever the journey leads you.  That’s one of many reasons why I find reading so fascinating and why it never gets stale.  So many topics, so many adventures, so little time!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now Reading – Pinheads and Patriots | Beltwayliterature - April 4, 2011

    […] I mentioned in my It’s Library Time! post, I have checked out Bill O’Reilly’s Patriots and Pinheads from the library.  As […]

  2. Now Reading – Freakonomics | Beltwayliterature - April 6, 2011

    […] I mentioned in my It’s Library Time! post, I have checked out Steven D. Levitt’s and Stephen J. Dubner’s book Freaknomics.  […]

  3. Now Reading – SuperFreakonomics | Beltwayliterature - April 8, 2011

    […] I mentioned in my It’s Library Time! post, I have checked out Steven D. Levitt’s and Stephen J. Dubner’s SuperFreakonomics […]

Leave a Reply

