Additional Impressions – Pride and Prejudice


This evening I stand about 60 pages from completing my journey with Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  I seem to be blazing through the book at about my normal fiction pace.  Pride and Prejudice has definitely been the change of pace I’ve been looking for after spending 2 months reading Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I.

Since my previous post, I’ve come to learn more about each character, in particular Elizabeth.  I’ve seen her grow significantly as a character and lose a bit of her prejudices against Mr. Darcy.  The tone seems still a bit depressed, as I indicated previously, but I do, perhaps, see some rays of sunshine fighting their way through the cloudy scene.

I’m finding myself actually enjoying this book.  I think, later on down the road, I might need another reading of it to completely see a certain someone’s utter fascination with it, but that’s ok.  Am I enjoying it more than my reading of Emma back in 2009?  I haven’t quite made that determination yet.  Emma is a completely different story, with a more airy setting than Pride and Prejudice.  I do see some similarities between Emma and Elizabeth in being smart, decisive women, so I can see that common theme.  The humor is also a bit more subtle, and sometimes I have to re-read a passage to ensure I’ve gotten it.

All-in-all, I’m very pleasantly surprised thus far.  And I definitely enjoy the cultural/social aspects of the book.  As a student of history, I’ve been picking up on quiet a few societal/cultural norms, as I do when I read any other similar type of book, such as Emma, War and Peace, etc.  I’ll definitely have more to say upon completion!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

