Now Reading – Pride and Prejudice


After a very interesting almost two month reading of Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I, I am now embarking on a bit of fictional reading.  More specifically, more classical literature.  I’ve decided after reading the very deep first volume of Capital, it was the perfect time to give my mind a break from Marx prior to jumping into the second volume of Capital.

I’ve decided that Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice is the book I should tackle next.  I addressed that I was tackling this book next in my post A Quick Change of Pace, which if you haven’t had a chance to read, please do!

I’ve heard many good things about this book, in particular, from my wife, who’s really big in to Jane Austen.  She’s highly recommended this book to me for quite some time, and just haven’t gotten too serious about reading it, until earlier this year, when I added it to my list of books to read this year.  I’ve only read one other Jane Austen novel before, and that was in 2009 when I read Emma.

We own a paperback version of the book, and here’s what the back of the book says:

The romantic clash of two opinionated young people provides the sustaining theme of Jane Austen’s 1813 masterwork Pride and Prejudice.  Spirited Elizabeth Bennet is one of a family of five daughters; with no male heir, the Bennet estate must someday pass to their priggish cousin Collins.  Therefore, the girls must marry well-and the arrogant bachelor Mr. Darcy is Elizabeth’s elusive match.  An entertaining portrait of matrimonial rites and rivalries, Pride and Prejudice is timeless in its hilarity and its honesty; readers will immediately understand why Austen herself called the book “my own darling child.”  Margaret Drabble writes in her incisive introduction:  “The elegance of this performance is almost beyond praise.”

This book is definitely going to be a nice change of pace from what I’ve been reading previously.  I’m looking forward to seeing what many generations of other readers have found so wonderful about this book.  In particular, I’m looking forward to gaining a bit of insight as to why a certain someone loves this book as much as they do.  If you’ve read Pride and Prejudice, please let me know a little bit of what you thought of it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Now Reading – Pride and Prejudice”

  1. I think I’ve mentioned to you how I felt about P & P. I loved it, but it took over 100 pages of forced reading to really get into the writing style. I also didn’t understand that a great deal of it was very dry humor and it is actually pretty funny. I started out reading it as a serious book and was puzzled by the inklings of humor that I was sensing. Only after seeing the 1940 film version of the book did I realize that much of the book is a comedy.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

    • I’m through about 30 pages of the book now after reading some of it during lunch today. Some of it definitely has been dry so far. There is definitely a bit of humor there. I’m hoping it picks up just slightly.

  2. I love that description of Austen: “elegant.” Yes, that’s it.

    I read a biography on Austen recently. It entirely changed my view of Jane Austen:

    http://jillianisreading.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/book-24-jane-austen-a-life-by-claire-tomalin/

    (I’m not fishing for comments. Just sharing if you’re interested.)

Leave a Reply

