My Thoughts On Capital, Volume I


Wow!  I finally managed to complete my reading of Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I, last night before I went to bed.  I also managed to complete my commentary book, David Harvey’s A Companion To Marx’s Capital.  I  began both books at the beginning of February, and almost two complete months later, I find myself at the finish line!

First, a word though about David Harvey’s A Companion To Marx’s Capital.  I cannot say enough about this book that I purchased as a guide on my journey throughout Marx’s first volume of Capital.  The writing was succinct, to the point, and definitely matched the video lectures on his website, at least, the few that I watched.  While I was cognizant to the fact that David Harvey’s guide was based on his own interpretations, I was able to develop my own thoughts, and generate additional questions on Marx’s writing.

I found each chapter to be split up perfectly to go along with the chapters in Capital, and in the commentary, Harvey even points out the important points and re-emphasizes them.  I don’t think I would’ve been able to understand the first volume of Capital as much without having read this commentary along with it.

Regarding Capital, needless to say, as I was reaching the last 20 pages or so, I was feeling quite relieved with the fact that I was nearing the end of the book.  I think mentally I was hitting a wall with the book.  That’s not to say I wasn’t enjoying the reading by any stretch of the imagination, I feel my brain was just tired at this point, and as such, was completely ready to have a break from this heavy reading that I have been doing for the last almost two months.

I definitely learned a lot from reading this first volume of Capital, and am so glad I decided to tackle this monumental work at this time.  It has definitely opened my eyes up to how capitalism works, at the very basic level.  While very deep on theory, I didn’t find myself scratching my head too much, but there were, obviously, some areas where I was like, “What the heck!”  Those areas of the reading is where I wish I had been a bit more versed in Adam Smith, Malthus, etc.  But I also recognize my own shortcomings that while I have a very basic understanding of economics, some of the economics discussed in this work were beyond my understanding, which is perfectly fine!

Overall though, I must say, Capital has been a very enjoyable, and fulfilling read.  It has also allowed me to grow as reader, which is really cool.  I will now find myself reading even more deeply into whatever I read as a result of having read this book.

Now that I have completed this first volume of Capital, I’m looking forward to a bit of a respite from Marx, and as such, will be taking a bit of a break before tackling Capital, Volume II.  I’m planning on mixing in some fiction and perhaps some lighter non-fiction works before resuming my Marx Reading Challenge.

Essentially, all-in-all, I’m relieved to be done, and am so glad I undertook this voyage.  Have you ever felt a sense of relief when completing a major work, either fiction or non-fiction?  Do you ever hit a mental roadblock?  Please let me know!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

