A Capital Weekend For Reading


I can’t believe how quickly the week went by!  I’m also very pleased with the amount of reading I managed to get accomplished during the work week.  As of this Friday evening, I’m a short 16 pages away from completing the penultimate section of Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I.  With the weekend coming up, and it looking like we’re going to get a bit of snow on Sunday, I figure the weekend is ripe for some wonderful reading, minus my 9 mile training run tomorrow for my half-marathon in two short weeks!

This last chapter of the section, chapter 25, The General Law of Capitalist Accumulation, has been another chapter of historical references, as far as I’m concerned.  In this chapter Marx is speaking to the living conditions of workers, and the amount of rent that’s charged for those poor accommodations.  It definitely gives me some perspective, and the descriptions reminded me of some of the descriptions of the living conditions described by John Steinbeck in The Grapes of Wrath.  I read The Grapes of Wrath last year at this time, and you can read my thoughts here.

Since I plan on completing my reading of Chapter 25 this evening, it’s time to take a quick look at the final part of Capital, Volume I, entitled, “So-Called Primitive Accumulation.”  The eighth and final part of Capital, Volume I, contains the following chapters:

  • Chapter 26:  The Secret of Primitive Accumulation
  • Chapter 27:  The Expropriation of the Agricultural Population from the Land
  • Chapter 28:  Bloody Legislation against the Expropriated since the End of the Fifteenth Century.  The Forcing Down of Wages by Act of Parliament
  • Chapter 29:  The Genesis of the Capitalist Farmer
  • Chapter 30:  Impact of the Agricultural Revolution on Industry.  The Creation of a Home Market for Industrial Capital
  • Chapter 31:  The Genesis of the Industrial Capitalist
  • Chapter 32:  The Historical Tendency of Capitalist Accumulation
  • Chapter 33:  The Modern Theory of Colonization

At this point in my reading, I think I can finally say that I’ve reached the home stretch of my reading for the first volume of Capital.  As I’m making my way through these final chapters, I’m looking forward to a bit of a break from reading Marx before I being the second volume of Capital perhaps in a month or so.  Overall though, I’m feeling pretty good about my reading of the work still.

My hope is to get through at least chapter 3o this weekend, and I’ll feel like I’ve gotten quite a bit accomplished with my reading of Capital.  I’m surely looking forward to hitting the finish line!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “A Capital Weekend For Reading”

  1. You know I’ve never read Marx.

    • It’s definitely been a pretty large time commitment. I’ve also been pretty much reading only that and a commentary to go with it. I’d highly recommend reading The Communist Manifesto to begin with. Definitely an interesting work to read.

Leave a Reply

