Unfinished Tales – Another Unread Book On My Bookshelf


Tonight’s post is yet another in my series of unread books on my bookshelf.  I am discovering, through this series of posts, that I have MANY books on my bookshelf that I haven’t read yet.  It’s absolutely amazing to me.  I knew there were books that I hadn’t read yet that I owned, but I didn’t realize it was this many!

Tonight, I want to talk about J.R.R. Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth.  This book was given to me as a gift from my sister some years ago.  She knows that I really love reading Tolkien and thought I’d enjoy this particular set of stories.  I haven’t read any Tolkien in quite some time, so it may be nearing time again where I take another trip into the world of Middle-Earth.  Here’s what the back of the book says:

A New York Times bestseller for twenty-one weeks upon publication, Unfinished Tales is a collection of narratives ranging in time from the Elder Days of Middle-earth to the end of the war of the Ring, and further relates events as told in The Silmarillion and The Lord of the Rings.

The book concentrates on the lands of Middle-earth and comprises Gandalf’s lively account of how he came to send the Dwarves to the celebrated party at Bag End, the story of the emergence of the sea-god Ulmo before the eyes of Tuor on the coast of Beleriand, and an exact description of the military organization of the Riders of Rohan and the journey of the Black Riders during the hunt for the Ring.

Unfinished Tales also contains the only surviving story about the long ages of Numenor before its downfall, and all that is known about the Five Wizards sent to Middle-earth as emissaries of the Valar, about the Seeing Stones known as the Palantiri, and about the legend of Amroth.

If you’ve read this book, I’d love to hear what you thought of it!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Unfinished Tales – Another Unread Book On My Bookshelf”

  1. That was acutally one of the unfinished books I started some years ago….

    • The parts that you read, did you enjoy them? I’m looking at getting to this book sooner than later. I really enjoy visiting Tolkien’s world.

      • I really don’t remember, but I’m sure they were interesting. May I recommend you read The Silmarillion, if you haven’t already.

      • I used to own a copy of The Silmarillion and had read a good portion of it, but while I was on a camping trip it got ruined and I haven’t replaced it since. I should definitely see about doing that though! Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  2. I’m liking the notion of P & P being on deck!
    Maybe she’ll hit it out of the park…

    My shelves are full (sigh) of books I have not read, many of them serious and smart and when will I open them??? I also treasure my many photo and art books that I use for visual inspiration and sheer pleasure.

    My second non-fiction book is out in three weeks (!) so I now have a few copies of it on my shelves. That one, I’ve read.

    • I’m actually looking forward to reading Pride and Prejudice. I saw the latest movie with Keira Knightly in it with my wife not too long ago. I definitely want to see why my wife loves it so much.

      I hear ya about the books on shelves. I need to see about reading some of my unread ones before purchasing new ones!

Leave a Reply

