Spring Is Afoot, And With It Distractions


What a beautiful day here in the DC metro area today!  With how nice the weather is, it got me to thinking, with spring coming soon, how many distractions will be coming my way as I try to keep up with my normal reading schedule.  I already have a pretty decent distraction with the NCAA Men’s basketball tournament.  I’m also very cognizant of the fact that baseball starts in two weeks, and hockey is getting ready to hit Stanley Cup fever.

I’m going to do my best to keep up with a decent reading schedule with these distractions coming up.  In the past couple of weeks, I’ve made some wonderful progress in Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I, and I would love to begin the spring reading season with this part of my Marx reading challenge complete.

Speaking of my Marx reading, I did manage, in the course of the last couple of days, to complete my reading of Part V of Capital, Volume I.  It was a rather short part, and I have begun to make progress on the sixth part.  I definitely feel like I’m hitting a good stride and can definitely begin to see a shimmer of light at the end of the tunnel.  While I’ve been enjoying this reading, I’m definitely looking forward to getting started with Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.  Get a little fiction reading in prior to beginning the second volume of Capital.

Hopefully I can keep the distractions to a minimum over the course of the next month, as I’ve found myself to not be as mentally exhausted when I’m reading more and watching less television.  🙂  How do you deal with distractions when you’re reading?  Do you allow other activities to determine your reading time?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

