Modest Weekend Goals


This evening, I sit at section 4 of Chapter 15 in Marx’s Capital, Volume I.  This weekend, I’m really looking forward to getting some quality reading time in, minus the time I need to devote to my 9 mile training run this weekend.  There’s a half-marathon I’m running in 4 weeks that I need to still get ready for.  However, that’s a topic for a different day, and probably, a different blog, that I won’t ever start….  🙂

This weekend, I would like to see myself complete this chapter in Capital.  I’m, so far, finding it quite interesting.  There’s quite a bit of history mixed in with this chapter, which I immensely enjoy as well.  I’m also finding the chapter to be, not difficult, but not exactly easy either.

Once I get through this monstrosity of a chapter, I’m looking forward to hitting the home stretch of my reading of this book.  Not that I’m exactly expecting easy sailing mind you, but I’ll definitely be reaching the point of no return, where I don’t nearly have as far to go as I’ve already traveled.

If I manage to complete Chapter 15, I will try my best to get through the commentary chapter in A Companion to Marx’s Capital.  Which, I may add, is still doing wonders in helping me understand the concepts more than a simple reading of the book might.  I don’t want to think of it as a crutch, but I will miss such a companion for the second and third volumes of Capital when I tackle them later on down the stretch.

I sure hope I’m not setting unrealistic goals for the weekend.  Have you ever set unrealistic weekend goals for reading?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “Modest Weekend Goals”

  1. As a former editor, I set unrealistic reading goals ALL the time. Every book has its own demands. It’s kind of like dating. Each person you date has their own demands. Some are high maintenance, some are easy going. 😉

  2. *Have you ever set unrealistic weekend goals for reading?*

    Every weekend. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Capital Volume I Part IV & Looking Ahead To Part V | Beltwayliterature - March 16, 2011

    […] I didn’t meet my modest weekend goals, I’m definitely glad I was able to make it through these pivotal chapters, even if a few days […]

Leave a Reply

