Rainy Days Are Great For Reading, Alas, I Had To Work…


What a rainy day today here in the DC metro area.  It started fairly early here this morning and kept up all day long.  It’s still raining as I write this post this evening.  However, it looks like we’ll get a reprieve when it’s time to make the trek into the office tomorrow.  🙂

The weather aside, I was thinking today how much better it would’ve been to stay at home, on my couch, and read more of Marx’s Capital, Volume I, but, since professional reading doesn’t pay the mortgage, I figured I should go to work today.  While I was able to make some headway into Chapter 15 – Machinery and Large-Scale Industry, I couldn’t help but think of additional books I should add to my to be read list.  So I spent some time yesterday and tonight, doing some browsing online for books to add to my list.

Now, to start off, I’ve been inspired to add more women writers to my to be read list.  This inspiration came from my post, and the numerous comments I received, on Books and the Perceptions They Bring – Does It Concern You? I was also inspired from a post from Jillian’s blog, which you can read here, which I highly encourage you to take a look at.

You can view the new books that I’ve added on my page here, but here is a small selection of what I added:

  • Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronté
  • Mansfield Park, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  • The Origin of the Family, Private Property and the State by Friedrich Engels
  • How The West Was Lost by Dambisa Moyo

If you’ve read any of these books, or can make additional suggestions that you may think I’d find of interest, I’d love you to leave those in the comments section!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

