Favorite Reads – In Cold Blood: Have You Read It?


Today, I wish to discuss one of my favorite reads of 2009, Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood.  I read this book based on a co-worker’s recommendation at the time.  Full disclosure, I had never read any of Truman Capote’s works beforehand.  I knew going into it, that In Cold Blood was a book about a despicable crime, but other than that, I had no knowledge whatsoever about the events.  I remember purchasing the book with a Borders gift card that I received as a going-away gift from my project.  Here’s what the back of the book says:

On November 15, 1959, in the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, four members of the Clutter family were savagely murdered by blasts from a shotgun held a few inches from their faces.  There was no apparent motive for the crime, and there were almost no clues.

As Truman Capote reconstructs the murder and the investigation that led to the capture, trial, and execution of the killers, he generates both mesmerizing suspense and astonishing empathy.  In Cold Blood is a work that transcends its moment, yielding poignant insights into the nature of American violence.

I had never really been very much into crime books previously.  I definitely haven’t read one since, but I’m aiming to, especially after I watched the movie Public Enemies last year.  But In Cold Blood was something I had a hard time putting down once I began reading it.  I was mesmerized and wanted to find out who the responsible parties were.  I also couldn’t believe the description of the crime, so vivid.  Definitely a page turner!

I couldn’t have been more thrilled with a book than I was with this one, and I definitely encourage anyone that’s interested in true crime books to pick this book up and give it a read.  You won’t regret it as Capote’s writing style is very good.  If you’ve read this book, I’d love to discuss it with you!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Favorite Reads – In Cold Blood: Have You Read It?”

  1. I have the book, but have not read it. I have seen the movie and it is excellent.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. I got a copy of this for Christmas! I can’t WAIT to read it. (Though, I don’t think I’ll read this one at night…)

  3. The first time I tried reading this I stopped after a few pages. My first impression of it was that it didn’t have enough crime details for a crime novel. Although, the second time I tried reading it, I succeeded in finishing it and loved it! It still didn’t have enough of the gory details I would have enjoyed, but the way it was written, all that stuff didn’t really matter.

    I’m glad I have it a second chance 🙂

    • I don’t know what happened with me on this book. I picked it up and pretty much couldn’t put it down. 🙂 I’ve also been thinking about reading Public Enemies after seeing the film with Johnnie Depp. I think that would be a really interesting true crime read!

Leave a Reply

