A Quick Change of Pace


This evening, after doing a bit of thinking about my reading of Karl Marx’s Capital, Volume I, about if I should continue on with Volume II immediately.  After about 15 minutes of thinking, I decided it would be best to break up Capital Volume I and Volume II, with a bit of lighter fare.

I thought this course of action would be best to give my brain a bit of a break by reading some fiction.  By reading something a bit more relaxing nor not as theoretically deep.  I’m still looking forward to reading the second volume of Capital though after I take a slight detour in my reading schedule.

The book I plan on reading next is Jane Austen’s Pride and PrejudicePride and Prejudice will be the second Jane Austen book I will have read.  The first was Emma and I read that late in the summer of 2009.  While I found Emma to be a pretty decent read, I’m hoping for something not as chatty Cathy as Emma was.  I’m hoping that will be the case with Pride and Prejudice.

Pride and Prejudice is one of my books in my 2011 goals.  I feel this book is the type of book I’m looking for to break up the economic theory of Karl Marx.  I haven’t decided yet if I’ll take the same approach between Capital Volume II, and Volume III.  That decision will come as I get into Capital, Volume II, which I plan on tackling after my reading of Pride and Prejudice.

Have you ever broken up an easier read between two difficult books?  Have you read Austen’s Pride and Prejudice?  If you have, I’d love to hear your thoughts on either of these two questions.  Happy Friday!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “A Quick Change of Pace”

  1. I had to force myself to get thru the first half of this book until I got into the rhythm and style of the writing. Then I really started liking it and ended up enjoying it so much that I proceeded to watch every film version of it.

    I sensed that the book was somewhat funny but because of the way it was written I wasn’t sure. Then when I saw the 1940 version of the movie with Olivier I got it and realized that much of the book is comedy. That movie version is my favorite because I think it captures the true spirit of the book. The later versions are also quite good and the long ones are more true to the actual telling of the story. I thought the most recent version was the most disappointing.

    It is a great book though.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • I have seen the version of the movie with Keira Knightley in it with my wife. The movie was ok, but I’m still going to read it. Even if I have to get teased about it by my little sister, who thinks I shouldn’t be reading such books!

  2. I think this is one I will prefer on a second read. I didn’t not like it, but I didn’t really understand all the fuss.

    I’ve since read a biography on Austen, and I more understand who she was as a writer.

    Sense and Sensibility is a debate, while Pride and Prejudice is a love story. Everything Austen did was under the surface. She wrote a love story in P&P, but she was saying far more, beneath the text.

    I like that she presents life in her day, and mocks it, yet does it in such a fashion, it would have been possible to read it as a simple love story.

    • I’m not quite sure what to expect with P&P. I’ve seen one of the movies and I wasn’t blown away. Maybe I’ll be able to get more out of it by reading it. My wife has been asking me to read it for quite some time now, so I think she’s glad that I’m finally going to take a stab at it!

  3. The reason why I read P & P in the first place was because I was going to read P & P & Zombies so I wanted to read the original beforehand, which I’m glad I did. You can always tell your little sister that’s why you’re going to read it. P & P & Zombies is coming out in movie version this year I believe.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choosing Books To Read – How Do You Go About Doing It? | Beltwayliterature - March 5, 2011

    […] I mentioned in yesterday’s post, A Quick Change of Pace, I spoke about how I was going to change things up a bit and read Jane Austen’s Pride and […]

  2. Books & The Perceptions They Bring – Does It Concern You? | Beltwayliterature - March 6, 2011

    […] but I especially got around to thinking about it when I wrote in one of my previous posts, “A Quick Change of Pace,” that I was going to read Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice after my reading of […]

  3. Now Reading – Pride and Prejudice | Beltwayliterature - March 28, 2011

    […] is the book I should tackle next.  I addressed that I was tackling this book next in my post A Quick Change of Pace, which if you haven’t had a chance to read, please […]

Leave a Reply

