Books & Social Networking Sites – Love Them or Hate Them?


Goodreads, Shelfari, Librarything, all social book sites.  I’ve been using Goodreads since August 2009 to keep track of what I’m reading, what I’ve read, and what I would like to read.  I haven’t really done any social networking on Goodreads, even though I know it definitely has that functionality.  I’ve found the site to be somewhat easy to use and I definitely appreciate the fact that it can be linked to both my Facebook and Twitter accounts.  Currently, I only have it linked to my Facebook profile, but have been debating in recent days whether I should link it to my Twitter as well.

Within the last couple of weeks, I’ve signed up for an account on Shelfari to see what it was like since I had been seeing some comments about it online.  I definitely like the interface for Shelfari, even more so than I do for Goodreads.  One thing I don’t like about Shelfari is the lack of ability to track your progress in the books, but that really isn’t a deal breaker for me by any stretch of the imagination.  It also doesn’t have any linkage to my Facebook or Twitter profiles.

Here’s another thing I really like with Shelfari.  Since I’m planning on purchasing a Kindle later on down the road, I love the fact that you can share your kindle purchases on it, so that will really make adding books to my online library that much easier without me physically adding it.  I also like the fact that groups are easier to find and join as well to discuss certain books.

I haven’t had much interaction with Librarything.  I think part of the reason why is the limitations that is placed on you unless you pay for a lifetime membership, and I just don’t feel the strong need to pay for a site right now.

For the time being, I plan on using both, but I’m also debating with myself whether I should limit myself to just one of them.  Do you use one of the above book social networking sites?  Do you find them to be useful?  Do you utilize the social networking aspects of any of them?  I’d love to see your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Books & Social Networking Sites – Love Them or Hate Them?”

  1. I’ve tried all three. I definitely prefer Goodreads, and deleted my accounts at the other two sites. Goodreads just makes the most sense to me, for my purposes.

    I do use it for the ‘social’ though.

    I’ve heard Library Thing is one people love, if they’re just using it to organize their books, without any interest in chatting.

    What Goodreads has, that I love, is the ‘Home’ feature — like Facebook.

    Shelfari is pretty, but that’s about all that really interested me…

    • I agree, Shelfari does look pretty. I’m not sure how much I’ll do with it. I also failed to mention that Goodreads has an iPhone app and Shelfari doesn’t, so that makes it much easier to update my reading on the go.

      I’ve heard similar things about Library Thing and I know it’s quite popular.

  2. I have used shelfari in the past but somehow I could not continue keeping the interest. I need to check out the other two.
    http://iandbooks.wordpress.com/

  3. I’m with Jillian in that I like Goodreads. It’s simple and to the point, plus I do like the Facebook and Twitter connections. I did try to keep track of all the books I’ve read through LibraryThing, but then it seemed a little vain to me. With Goodreads, I’ve kept track of just the last few years and that’s good enough for me.

    • I’ve also kept track of the last few years. What I liked about Goodreads when I signed up for it, was the fact that I was able to add suggested books. They had a list and I was able to say yes or no to having read them.

      Ultimately, I think the integration with Facebook and Twitter will win the day for me to mostly use it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feburary 2011 In Review | Beltwayliterature - February 28, 2011

    […] Capital, I’ve also managed to write about many other reading related items.  I talked about social networking and books, the fascination with vampire books, and my more difficult reads to […]

Leave a Reply

