The Sword of Shannara

Favorite Fantasy Series – Terry Brooks Shannara


I don’t really get too engrossed with fantasy series; however, after being exposed to Terry Brooks and his Shannara series back in high school, that changed.  This series really is the only one I’ve really tackled.  I don’t count Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings as a series, which I really enjoy just as much, if not more.

My initial exposure to Terry Brooks came with The Scions of Shannara, a book I picked up while my family was in Texas on a trip.  I started to read the book, without realizing, that I was really reading the first book of The Heritage of Shannara series, which was the sequel to the first set of books that began with The Sword of Shannara.  That definitely explained why I didn’t understand any of the characters lineage, or some of the preceding events.

Upon our return home to Oklahoma City, I headed to the library and picked up the first book of the series, The Sword of Shannara.  Afterwards, I ended up picking the book up in paperback I liked it so much.  Since that period of time, I’ve read almost every Shannara series book that Terry Brooks has published.  But it all started with me reading The Sword of Shannara first, and it is one of my favorite reads of all time.  Here’s what the back of the book says:

Long ago, the wars of ancient Evil had ruined the world and forced mankind to compete with many other races-gnomes, trolls, dwarfs, and elves.  But in peaceful Shady Vale, half-elfin Shea Ohmsford knew little of such troubles.

Then came the giant, forbidding Allanon, possessed of strange Druidic powers, to reveal that the supposedly dead Warlock Lord was plotting to destroy the world.  The sole weapon against this Power of Darkness was the Sword of Shannara, which could only be used by a true heir of Shannara.  On Shea, last of the blood line, rested the hope of all races.

Soon a Skull Bearer, dread minion of Evil, flew into the Vale, seeking to destroy Shea.  To save the Vale, Shea flees, drawing the Skull Bearer after him.

Have you read this series before?  Did you like it as much as I do?  What other fantasy series do you enjoy?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

