Master & Commander – Have You Read It?


This post continues my series on unread books that I’ve either purchased or been given as gifts.  Today I’d like to talk about Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian.  I bought this book back in 2003 when the movie came out starring Russell Crowe.  To this day I have neither seen the movie nor read the book.  Here’s what the back of the book says:

It is the dawn of the nineteenth century:  Britain is at war with Napoleon’s France.  Jack Aubrey, a young lieutenant in Nelson’s navy, is promoted to command of H.M.S. Sophie, an old, slow brig unlikely to make his fortune.  But Captain Aubrey is a brave and gifted seaman, his thirst for adventure and victory immense.  With the aid of his friend Stephen Maturin, ship’s surgeon and secret intelligence agent, Aubrey and his crew engage in one thrilling battle after another, their journey culminating in a stunning clash with a mighty Spanish frigate against whose guns and manpower the tiny Sophie is hopelessly outmatched.

I know why I originally picked up this book.  I was interested in seeing the movie, but seeing on how I knew it was based upon a book, I couldn’t see the movie before I read the book.  Kind of a policy that I have, which I’ll be blogging about here soon in the future.  Between getting caught up with work, I suppose I just didn’t get around to it.

A couple of years ago, I almost picked up Master and Commander to read when I saw my father had started to read  this series of books, but I was in graduate school at the time, and I really wasn’t in the mood to be doing too much outside reading.  I know this book is one that I definitely need to pick up soon to read, because a part of me is interested in getting caught up in a good sea adventure.  I’m definitely going to have to make this one happen sooner than later.

Have you read Master and Commander or any of the other books in this series?  If you have, leave me a note telling me what you think!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

