Teaser Tuesday – Capital


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week comes from Karl Marx’s Capital Volume I page 188:

The first main function of gold is to supply commodities with the material for the expression of their values, or to represent their values as magnitudes of the same denomination, qualitatively equal and quantitatively comparable.  It thus acts as a universal measure of value, and only through performing this function does gold, the specific equivalent commodity, become money.

Please feel free to share yours below!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Capital”

  1. Great book to tease about 🙂 I keep meaning to read him. Thanks!

    My teaser http://www.ephemeraldigest.co.uk/2011/02/tuesday-teaser-the-wise-heart/

    • So far it’s been pretty good to read! I haven’t gotten any further than the first two chapters though as I’m still reading the commentary for those chapters now.

      I’ll be doing many posts on Capital while I’m reading, and I’d love to talk with you more about it, especially if you’re going to read it! It’s always good to have someone else to talk to about a work such as this, adds so much more to the experience!

      Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Oooh! Wonderful teaser! I saw your name at the “Should Be Reading” blog and thought instantly, “I always love Belway Literature’s posts!” I don’t get to peek at other blogs nearly as often as I want to. But I’m always very happy when I get to drop in here.

    – Phyl at the Bookishgal blog.

  3. I hope you are enjoying your book. Here is my Teaser for Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

