First Impressions – Capital


As I make my way through the first couple of chapters of Capital, Volume I, I thought I would quickly document my early thoughts on the book.  So far, this book is much more structured than Grundrisse was, as I wrote about when I was reading it.  Capital is also significantly better written.

I also find the writing style to be much easier to read than I expected, which, as you can imagine, is a very pleasant surprise.  With this particular type of style, I’m finding the concepts to be much easier to understand.  However, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the fact that I am reading a companion to the text as well which is helping me along the way.  You can read more about that companion here.

I’ll be writing more about some key points and questions that has been generated early on with my readings, but I’m happy to say, the Capital is already causing me to ask some good questions about the reading, and has opened up my mind already to some concepts of economics that I hadn’t previously thought about.

I have completed the first two chapters and am currently reading David Harvey’s A Companion to Marx’s Capital on those chapters and documented those thoughts which I look forward to sharing here in due time!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

