Capital – Supplemental Readings & Help


As I’m working my way through reading the Introduction to Marx’s Capital Volume I.  I went ahead and took a look to see if there was any supplemental reading guides and/or companions to assist me along the way.  These guides would help me to understand Capital a bit better so I can get more out of my reading experience.

As I mentioned in my posts about Grundrisse, there were some concepts written about that I didn’t completely understand, which is acceptable to me, given that I don’t have a strong background in economics.  Since I purchased all of the books for my Marx Reading Challenge from Amazon, I went ahead and checked to see what other books people bought along with Capital.

That search produced a book by David Harvey entitled:  A Companion to Marx’s Capital.  I went ahead and did a quick search to see if my local Barnes and Noble carried it, as I had about $15 in Barnes and Noble gift cards to use.  I found it at my local Barnes and Noble and picked it up.  Here’s what the back of this book says:

“My aim is to get you to read a book by Karl Marx called Capital, Volume I, and to read it on Marx’s own terms…”

The biggest financial crisis since the Great Depression has generated a surge of interest in Marx’s work in the effort to understand the origins of our current predicament.  For nearly forty years, David Harvey has written and lectured on Capital, becoming one of the world’s foremost Marx scholars.  Based on his recent lectures, this current volume aims to bring that depth of learning to a broader audience, guiding first-time readers through a fascinating and deeply rewarding text.  A Companion to Marx’s Capital offers fresh, original and sometimes critical interpretations of a book that has changed the course of history and, as Harvey intimates, may do so again.

While I was thumbing through the book, I came across David Harvey’s website, http://www.davidharvey.org and there are lectures there as well that I will take a look at while I’m reading Capital Volume I.

I will also take a look at what material the SparkNotes website has on the work as well.  My goal, of course, is to understand the work and arguments better than with me reading the book by itself.

Have you ever used a companion reader to tackle complicated works before?  If you have, please leave a comment below!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Capital – All Cylinders A Go! « Beltwayliterature - February 4, 2011

    […] hit the ground running with my trek through Marx’s work.  As I mentioned in my previous post Capital – Supplemental Readings and Help, I indicated that I’ve gotten a separate book, A Companion to Marx’s Capital to help me […]

  2. First Impressions – Capital « Beltwayliterature - February 7, 2011

    […] I also find the writing style to be much easier to read than I expected, which, as you can imagine, is a very pleasant surprise.  With this particular type of style, I’m finding the concepts to be much easier to understand.  However, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the fact that I am reading a companion to the text as well which is helping me along the way.  You can read more about that companion here. […]

  3. My Capital Commentary – Do You Use Commentaries When Reading? | Beltwayliterature - February 25, 2011

    […] This evening, while I’m in between chapters in Karl Marx’s Capital, I wanted to take a few moments to talk about my reading commentary to the book by David Harvey entitled:  A Companion To Marx’s Capital.  This posting is a follow up to my post on Supplemental Readings and Help. […]

  4. Feburary 2011 In Review | Beltwayliterature - February 28, 2011

    […] Capital – Supplemental Readings & Help […]

Leave a Reply

