A Look Back At Beltwayliterature’s January 2011


What a great start to 2011 here at Beltwayliterature!  This month, I set my goals for the year for my year in reading.  This year, I have set a goal of 13 books.  My 2011 Goals Post shows what books I’m planning on tackling this year.  While 13 may not seem like a lot, when you look at what I’m going to read, I’m definitely reading a lot.  If I manage to complete this list that would be great, if I exceed the number of books, that would be awesome!

One of my goals, as stated, is my Marx Reading Project/Challenge.  I’m convinced this challenge is going to take up the bulk of my time this year.  I’m excited about the books I’m tackling here.  I’ve already managed to complete the first of the four books in Grundrisse.

This month I have read 3 books out of the 13!  I read Grundrisse, Dreams From My Father, and The Audacity of Hope.  That’s definitely the most books I’ve read in a month in quite some time!  I’m very pleased.  I know in the upcoming months, especially in February, that pace will slow as I’m tackling Capital Volume I.  I’ll be posting frequently this month about this book with thoughts, questions, and just general information about the book.  That’s what I have coming ahead in February.  I’ll also be continuing my series on my favorite reads and unread books on my bookshelf.

While I’ve obviously set some reading goals for this year, I also made a commitment to write more here.  When I caught wind of the fact that WordPress was doing a Post A Day effort here, I knew I had to get on board to re-invigorate my blogging.  For the most part, I’ve been posting everyday, but I’ve missed a couple of days, one for starting late, and one due to a power outage here in our area after a snowstorm late last week.

The post a day effort has definitely driven up interest in my blog here, with getting almost as many site visits this month as I did all of last year!  I attribute that to the post a day effort, and the fact that I joined a new group on Facebook called the Sunday Salon.  I’m also contemplating joining a couple of other blogging communities with the hope that these will keep me just as active throughout the year.  I thank you for coming by and reading my simple blog and hope you’ll continue to visit and interact with me as I go about my reading.  I definitely appreciate all the wonderful comments I’ve gotten!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “A Look Back At Beltwayliterature’s January 2011”

  1. I’m also participating in the post-a-day effort and it really is boosting my numbers too. I just commented about your pile of books on a previous post. At first, I thought, “13? Pshaw.” But then I saw what you were looking to tackle. Whew. Best of luck to you.

  2. Thanks! I know, 13 doesn’t seem like a heck of a lot. If I complete my Marx Reading Challenge it will be a successful year as far as I’m concerned. How’s the Sherlock Holmes coming? I hope you’re enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

