First Impressions – The Audacity of Hope


The other day I began reading President Obama’s book The Audacity of Hope.  I’m about 160 pages through the book now, and I must say, it’s written very well.  So far, it’s definitely what I was expecting from it.  In it, the President is detailing the foundations of his political thoughts.

The book is written in such a manner that anyone can understand it, and it doesn’t seem like he’s talking down to you.  While I can definitely find some common ground with the President’s thoughts here, I find it difficult to believe that he is actually following what he lays out in this book.  That’s another topic though for a different type of blog.

The ideas that the President is espousing in his book is something we should all strive for,  at least from what I’ve read so far.  Less bickering and more common ground.

All-in-all though, a very enjoyable read so far, with a smattering of history to with it, which is never a bad thing, in my opinion.  So far, I’m rather surprised with how I’m enjoying the book.  I’m just happy to learn more about the President’s basic political thoughts.  I hope the book continues to be as enjoyable a read as it has been.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Thoughts On The Audacity of Hope « Beltwayliterature - January 31, 2011

    […] complete the President’s second book, The Audacity of Hope.  As I mentioned previously in my First Impressions Post, I found the President’s writing to be very well and he was able to get his points across […]

Leave a Reply

