My Potential Move To E-Reading


E-reading….  There are people who love it, my sister for example, and those that don’t.  I’m not quite sure which category I fit into, as I haven’t taken the plunge yet for an e-reader.  Yes, I’ve looked at them, especially during this past Christmas shopping season where we bought my wife’s cousins each a wi-fi Nook.

I’ve been looking at e-readers for about a year now trying to determine if they’re right for me.  I believe I have my sights set on a new Kindle 3, mainly because it seems to be much easier to use, and secondly, I really love how you can organize books on them.  I also like the fact that I don’t have to plug it into my computer to download stuff.  If I am going to get one, I will also purchase one for my wife.

Over the past year, I’ve been going over the pros and cons of moving my reading to an e-reader.  The pros, as I see it, is the fact that I don’t really have to go to a bookstore anymore unless I absolutely have to.  While I enjoy going to our local Barnes and Noble, sometimes it’s just a hassle to get over there.  And, more often than not, I seem to find myself ordering stuff from Amazon more frequently because of the difference in price.

Another pro, as I see it, is the fact that I won’t have to worry about storage space for books anymore.  Which, let me tell you, is starting to become more and more of a challenge these days.  It seems like every couple of months my wife is asking me to go through the books on our shared bookshelf to see which ones I want to get rid of.  And like most bibliophiles, I’m loathe to part with my treasures.  Not quite sure why it’s so difficult for me to part with my books, especially those that I probably won’t read again.  But, then again, I’m sure I’m not the only one that feels a large amount of books, with bookshelves bursting at the seams, as a token of great pleasure.  But, I also understand my wife’s argument that we need to make room for any kiddies that may be in our future, so I definitely need to take that into consideration.  A Kindle, or similar reading device would make that part of my life easier.

I can also only see three cons with the move to an e-reader.  The first being that it’s not a real book.  I love the feel of reading a book and turning the pages.  I also like the idea of being able to easily go back to the previous page if I think I missed something.  But this con should be taken with a grain of salt because I can always buy the real thing, or if what I’m wanting to read isn’t available on an e-reader.  The second con I see is that when I would commute downtown, sometimes the books that I’ve read would be conversation starters with fellow commuters, that wouldn’t be the case with an e-reader, as it provides some anonymity.  The final con I can see is that with books being very easily procured at my fingertips, that I would be more of an impulse buyer with books, and that my reading habit will become that much more expensive.  Same with my wife.  We would definitely have to exert some restraint when purchasing new books.

E-reading definitely does intrigue me, and I’ll probably be getting a Kindle once I get a few more projects done in my house, but I don’t think it will discourage me to read any less, or more than I currently do.

If you own a Kindle or another e-reading type of device, please let me know how you like or dislike them!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

15 Responses to “My Potential Move To E-Reading”

  1. I bought a Nook in May, and have used it to read exactly one book!

    Yes, the pros exist – storage space, ease of bookmarking/annotating. Especially for people who travel, e-readers have a lot of benefits.

    The reason I don’t use mine so much? It’s not a book! Maybe I’ll use it on vacation this year …. time will tell.

    Is there a friend from whom you can borrow an e-reader to test drive? Some libraries have them now.

    • I could probably borrow one of my sister’s. She has both a Nook and a Sony E-reader. My parents and sister have been using e-readers for quite some time now. My sister travels a lot for work, but I think she’s maybe taken her Nook with her once or twice! She still goes to the bookstore and gets all kinds of books, to my parents chagrin!

      I did play with the Nook and Nook Color when my wife and I purchased two wi-fi ones as gifts. I must admit, they do look pretty neat, and I did feel I could read on them frequently, I’m just not sure how many books I would actually buy or read on it until I actually got one!

  2. Giving a Kindle to a bibliophile is like giving a flask to an alcoholic. Your obsession is suddenly portable. To address your cons:
    Con1: Not real books? Come on. The experience of reading goes on inside your head.
    Con2: You’ll find more people approach you when you’re reading a Kindle than when you are reading a book, because now what’s going on in your head is more of a mystery. To me, increased frequency of conversations with strangers is in itself a con, but, for you, maybe not.
    Con3: The impulse buy. Yep. That’s a potential problem. Unless you do as I do, and get your ebooks for absolutely free from Project Gutenberg, which reKindled my love of old Russian classics.
    I now look at old world books as quaint but cumbersome dust collectors.

    • Well, not real in a sense that the book isn’t physically in my hands. Perhaps I should’ve worded that sentence a bit better. 🙂 Yes, the reading experience is in your head, but it would be a transition since I wouldn’t be actually holding the book but a piece of technology. But you are correct!

      There would be times on the Metro where I wish people wouldn’t approach me because sometimes they are simply rude. Other times though, it’s ok especially if they have something constructive to add to what you’re reading.

      I’m familiar with Project Gutenberg, and given the fact that I’ve read a lot of classics over the last two years, that would definitely be a venue for me. By the way, nothing beats old Russian classics, especially some Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky!

  3. I chose the Nook for a couple of reasons:

    1. The ability to download free ebooks from Google eBooks, which the Kindle doesn’t have right now. Also you can purchase books from indie bookstores with part of the proceeds still going back to the stores.

    2. The ability to check out books from our local library. Again the Kindle doesn’t have that capability yet. You also can lend books with the Nook, which you can’t do — yet — with the Kindle.

    3. On a personal note, I had friends who own a bookstore in the town where I live and were affiliates with Amazon until Amazon just dropped them for no reason. Of course, Amazon — like B & N and Border’s — want to put indies out of business. However, at least with the Nook, I’m not locked into B & N.

    As for liking the e-reader, I’ve only read a couple of books so far on it, but it seems to go quicker than reading the paper version. I think it has something to do with the fact that you don’t have the distraction of the other page. Speaking to one of your cons, I can say that turning back to reread a section really isn’t that difficult. You just hit the scroll button and you’re there.

    • That’s something I’ve noticed with the Nook is that you can purchase books from other stores and not be locked into one bookstore. I’ve also seen that feature on the Sony E-readers too. I too, have noticed that indie bookstores are starting to become few and far between, especially here in the Northern Virginia area.

      Our public library system is starting to push checking out e-books. In their weekly newsletter not too along ago, they had some information on how to do that. It looks easy, as long as I can figure out the Adobe software for it. 🙂

      I’ll have to ask my wife’s cousins how they like theirs that we gave them for Christmas. I’m not completely locked into the Kindle, so my thoughts could change!

      • The Adobe software is pretty easy to use. I had to put my ID in twice before it took but once it did, it was fine.

        Also I don’t mean to sound so adamant or pushy, if I came across that way. Whatever you choose, I’m sure you’ll be happy. My brother-in-law has a Kindle and loves it, and we wouldn’t even have considered an e-reader if we hadn’t been swayed by seeing his in action.

      • You didn’t sound adamant or pushy by any stretch of the imagination! I realize that sometimes context is hard to demonstrate when writing. So no worries, you didn’t come across as anything but helpful. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

  4. I was surprised with a Sony eReader on Christmas morning by that Husband o’ Mine. I had been considering an eReader but had not really decided yet…that being said, I really, REALLY like my Sony!

    It is not a question of moving my reading to an eReader, for I’d never give up books completely. I love the textures and smells of books way too much for that!

    I really enjoy the eReader, being about to carry lots of books at a time when traveling or just out and about–even at home, it’s nice to flip through to this book or that one.

    I look at the eReader as an addition to my book habits, not instead of.

    Good luck 🙂
    ~
    http://mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com/

  5. I should add that my Sony eReader enables me to check out library books–and that rocks, as I am an avid library girl!!

    ~~

    http://mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com/

  6. I have the iPad. I like reading books on it. It is very mich like reading a tree book, down to the simulated turning pages. I will always prefer tree books. The one advantage the iPad has is that I can turn the lights off and read in the dark. I can adjust the screen be rightness.

    • My wife and I discussed getting an iPad during our e-reader discussion. We might end up getting one, but not as an e-reader. We were thinking about getting one as a potential computer replacement so we wouldn’t have to power a computer up all the time to read email or the news.

      The only issue I seem to have with reading on an iPad is that I read a computer screen all day at work and was concerned about eye fatigue, and with my wife wearing glasses, how that might make her eyes worse.

      But I definitely like the iPad and would really like to have one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Borrow From The Library Or Buy? How Do You Decide? | Beltwayliterature - March 19, 2011

    […] This topic also comes up because we are thinking about going through our bookcase again this spring to donate books to the library that we may not be interested in reading again.  Of course, I’m not willing to part with my trusted companions, but I suppose something can be said about not holding onto books that you’re not going to read again.  That brought up the discussion again about e-readers, in particular Amazon’s Kindle.  You can read my post about Kindles here. […]

  2. Coming To A Library Near You – Kindle | Beltwayliterature - April 25, 2011

    […] my previous post about the Kindle, I indicated my desire to take the plunge toward e-reading, which I’m planning on doing here […]

  3. My Foray Into E-Reading | Beltwayliterature - June 5, 2011

    […] Early last week, I finally decided to pick up an e-reader.  After many months deliberating whether I wanted to enter into the world of e-reading, and debating which e-reader to get, I ended up purchasing an Amazon Kindle.  I spoke some about my deliberation with e-reading here. […]

Leave a Reply

