First Impressions – Dreams From My Father


I’m a couple of days into reading President Obama’s memoir, Dreams From My Father.  The book is divided into three sections, Origins, Chicago, and Kenya.  Earlier today I completed the first part Origins.  The book flows very nicely and is, surprisingly, very quick to read.  In this first section, the President speaks about his difficulties growing up as a bi-racial child.

As I was reading about the President’s difficulties dealing with his issues of his ethnic background, I could see the pain and turmoil he was dealing with.  I can understand, to a certain extent, the turmoil he was dealing with, but I obviously can’t fully understand or grasp that turmoil as I haven’t had to deal with those issues.

The President writes very well, and the way he goes about telling his story is very easy to get into.  Sometimes memoirs/biographies can be very dry and difficult to get into to, but that clearly isn’t the case here.  I’m definitely learning more about the President than I previously knew, he definitely is opening up quite a bit here.

I’m looking forward to delving into the other two sections of the book and hope it continues to read as well as it has to this point.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

