Now Reading – Dreams From My Father


For my second book of 2011, I have decided to read President Obama’s first book, Dreams From My Father, A Story of Race and Inheritance.  I checked this book out from the library on Tuesday evening, and decided I would go ahead and read this book before taking up the second book of my Marx reading challenge.

During last year, when I read books by Glenn Beck, Michelle Malkin, Dick Morris, and Laura Ingraham, I indicated I would read books on the other side of the political spectrum as well, in an attempt to keep everything as even as possible.  This year, as I mentioned in my 2011 goals posting, I am following through with that commitment to myself.  I’ve always been interested in finding out more about our President, and what better way to accomplish that then to read it straight from the source himself.

I’m reading the paperback version of the book, published initially in 1995.  It is 457 pages in length, 12 of which is a sneak peak of the President’s second book, The Audacity of Hope.  Here’s what the back of the book states:

In this lyrical, unsentimental, and compelling memoir, the son of a black African father and a white American mother searches for a workable meaning to his life as a black American.  It begins in New York, where Barack Obama learns that his father-a figure he knows more as a myth than as a man-has been killed in a car accident.  This sudden death inspires an emotional odyssey-first to a small town in Kansas, from which he retraces the migration of his mother’s family to Hawaii, and then to Kenya, where he meets the African side of his family, confronts the bitter truth of his father’s life, and at last reconciles his divided inheritance.

I’m truly looking forward to reading this book and am very interested in learning more about the man who is our President.  If you’ve already read the book, please let me know what you think!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

