Grundrisse – Notebook VI


This evening, not only will I complete 100 pages of Grundrisse that I wished to get through this weekend, but I’ll also be completing Notebook VI and starting the seventh and final Notebook of the book.  Notebook VII will bring to a conclusion Marx’s thoughts on theories of surplus value.

Notebook VII also includes the third and final section on the chapter of capital, “Capital as Fructiferous Transformation of Surplus Value Into Profit.  It also contains a miscellaneous section.  Notebook VII is also almost 200 pages long, so it will be one of the longest notebooks of the entire book.

My ultimate goal is to complete the first book of my Marx reading challenge by the end of this upcoming weekend.  It might be a stretch, but I don’t think it’s out of the realm of possibility.  My biggest question, as I mentioned previously, is if I’m going to jump right into the first volume of Capital immediately after I complete Grundrisse, even though I have Capital Volume I listed as the next book I’m going to read.  I was thinking that maybe I should let the information I’m reading now sink in a bit.

I suppose that’s going to depend on if my local library has President Obama’s books available to check out this week.  If they do, I might go ahead and read those before I charge into the first volume of Capital.  I should have a decision about that made here shortly.

I’m looking forward to tackling the final part of Grundrisse!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

