Unread Books On My Bookshelf – The Belgariad


Today I was taking a quick look at my bookshelf to see what books I had bought but never got around to reading.  I got to thinking, what better way to keep track of those books, than by blogging about them?  So this post will be the first in a series for me to hold me a bit more accountable.  Maybe it will get me to start tackling some of my unread books, before going out to buy more, which I’ve been guilty of more than once.

The first book that caught my eye was a book by David Eddings called The Belgariad, Volume 1.  This book is the first of two volumes of the Belgariad series.  It contains the books Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, and Magician’s Gambit.  I remember, when I bought the book, it’s what the summary on the back stated that piqued my curiosity:

It all begins with the theft of the Orb that for so long protected the West from an evil god.  As long as the Orb was at Riva, the prophecy went, its people would be safe from this corrupting power.  Garion, a simple farm boy, is familiar with the legend of the Orb, but skeptical in matters of magic.  Until, through a twist of fate, he learns not only that the story of the Orb is true, but that he must set out on a quest of unparalleled danger to help recover it.  For Garion is a child of destiny, and fate itself is leading him far from his home, sweeping him irrevocably toward a distant tower-and a cataclysmic confrontation with a master of the darkest magic.

I can’t quite remember why I never tackled this book.  I also can’t remember for the life of me if I bought this book with another one.  I do know that I purchased it at Borders, but I can’t seem to remember when.  Hopefully I’ll be able to tackle this book soon.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Unread Books On My Bookshelf – The Belgariad”

  1. Jeremy – yes, we all have so many unread books on our shelves! I like the idea of reacquainting myself with my yet-to-be-read books … I hope you make progress with your public accountability 🙂 enjoy!

Leave a Reply

