A Long Weekend, Extra Time For Reading!


With this weekend being a long weekend due to the MLK Holiday, I figured, after some of my other chores were complete, that I would definitely get some extra reading in this weekend.  After this evening, that is looking more and more like the case.

With the extra day off, I’m hoping to be able to get through the next 100 pages or so of Marx’s Grundrisse.  I truly enjoy long holiday weekends.  I love them because I usually get some extra free time to do one of my favorite things, read books!  My company used to not have MLK day as a holiday, but with a newly revised holiday schedule, we now get all Federal holidays!  With the new company holiday, I can make some good headway into the final portions of Grundrisse so I can continue with my Marx reading challenge by moving on to Capital. Which is something I’m really looking forward to tackling, I’m actually starting to get excited about the prospects of beginning it.

What’s really exciting, is the fact that next week I should be receiving from Amazon one of the other books that I have targeted to read this year, William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.  I ordered it when I pre-ordered a book for my wife, Lauren Willig’s latest, The Orchid Affair.

My wife has really been into this particular series of books for quite some time, and I know she’s enjoyed each and everyone that she’s read.  I know she’s looking forward to it coming in because she has sort of ran out of things to read.  As for my incoming book, I probably won’t tackle that one until later on this year, but I’m definitely looking forward to it as well. I’m excited to read Shirer’s book, I’ve had my eye on it for quite some time.  I’ve always been interested in Nazi Germany, and I’m hoping for not only for a historically accurate book, but a fun read as well.

Happy reading everyone!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

