Evening Off, But Back To Reading & Other Thoughts


Last night, after I completed posting, I sat down on the couch to read, to come to find out that I just wanted a break from reading.  That might sound silly, but it was true.  In this case, with Grundrisse, it was probably wise to take said break just to clear my thoughts for an evening and just watch a little bit of Netflix.  Today, I got some more reading in, but tonight, I plan on getting a few more pages in the book before I turn in.

Today when I read a bit during lunch, I found myself refreshed and feeling like new, as if I hadn’t done any reading in a couple of days.  But, during my time away from Grundrisse, I got to thinking about how I go about choosing what I read.  Usually, if I’m not in Barnes and Noble, I’m searching Amazon to see what type of good stuff is out there that I haven’t read.  Amazon does a pretty decent job in recommending books, although, I haven’t bought as many books through them to date.  That might change when I get a Kindle, but that’s a post for another time.

Between Amazon, and the bookstore, I do read the NPR book section, the Washington Post Book World, and sometimes the NY Times book section, to see what’s new out there.  I usually try to get to one or two bestsellers during the year, hence my picks of Decision Points, Pinheads and Patriots, and Broke.  Mainly, I just try to keep my mind open about books and read many different things, just to keep it fresh and interesting.

My wife and I also swap ideas about what to read, and that’s one of the reasons why I’m reading my second Jane Austen book this year, Pride and Prejudice. She’s a huge Austen fan, and about a year and a half ago I tackled Emma.  It was much better than I thought it would be, and it was based off her suggestion, especially after I told her how much I enjoyed the movie with Gwyneth Paltrow that we rented from Netflix.  A little chatty cathy for me, but overall, I enjoyed it.  She thought I would enjoy Pride and Prejudice as well, she was right about Emma, so I figured, why not, it’s worth a shot.  Unfortunately, she doesn’t like my suggestions too much, but that’s another topic for another day.

I used to be so strict in choosing my books, but now I’m a bit more erratic, with no particular goal in mind, just to enjoy whatever it is that I’m reading at the particular moment in time.  Perhaps that’s just me growing as a reader over time, I certainly would like to think so!

Please feel free to share how you go about choosing your reading material, I’d be interested in knowing!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

