Grundrisse – The Home Stretch


This evening, as I near page 600 of Marx’s Grundrisse, I feel like I’m beginning to enter the home stretch.  I began Notebook VI, and I still feel like there isn’t too much organization to the book.  The run-on paragraphs and sentences is starting to make for harder reading, and even for hitting some good stopping points. Last night I managed to complete my reading of the fifth notebook, and began my reading of the sixth this evening.  Notebook VI fleshes out Marx’s thoughts on the theories of surplus value.

I also find that while my pace is picking up, I can’t help but think that has to do with the fact that I’m just ready to hit Capital hoping for a bit more organization and better writing.  While I’m finding the book interesting, it’s just such a difficult read due to the writing.

I am hopeful, however, that the writing will be much improved when I get to Capital.  Just have a few hundred pages left to go until i find out.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

