My Favorite Reads – Team of Rivals


This post is the second in a series that I started the other day with Dune, which is about my favorite reads.  One of my top books that I’ve read in the last 3 years has to be Team of Rivals:  The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin.  I read this book prior to the start of my final year in my MBA program, and as I was in between jobs, so I had some free time on my hands.

Generally speaking, I’m a huge history buff, having studied history in college and all.  While reading this book, I definitely learned quite a bit more about President Lincoln, some things I obviously didn’t know beforehand.  I found it quite telling how President Lincoln was able to bring together staunch adversaries and manage to get them all to work together on saving the Union during what is referred to as one of the darkest times in our history.

Through Goodwin’s writing and research, you are able to see how Lincoln was able to successfully pull together many different viewpoints and manage to solve problems and save a nation.  Something, some could argue, has escaped our political leaders today in Washington.  It’s not everyday where you find a leader who is willing to surround himself with people who have drastically different points of view than your own, less be successful.  Through the act of listening to everyone’s opinion, and forming his own, Lincoln was able to keep his cabinet together, and display a sense of unity for the American people.  I would definitely agree with Goodwin that Lincoln was a political genius to pull off such a feat, and he wasn’t even very experienced in politics at the time.

Anyone that is interested in history, the Civil War, or Lincoln, I would encourage you to pick up this book.  It’s definitely one you don’t want to miss.  Perhaps our leaders in Washington should also read it as well, they might learn something.

 

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

