My Favorite Reads – Dune


This Sunday, I’m beginning a series of posts discussing some of my favorite books that I’ve tackled in the past.  These books will be discussed in no particular order mainly because I would have a very difficult task in choosing my top book of all time.  For me, this list would be an ever evolving list, so I believe that would be unfair.  Today, I thought I would start with Frank Herbert’s Dune.

Dune was first published in 1965.  Here’s what the back of the book states:

Here is the novel that will be forever considered a triumph of the imagination.  Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’Dib.  He would avenge the traitorous plot against his noble family – and would bring to fruition humankind’s most ancient and unattainable dream.

A stunning blend of adventure and mysticism, environmentalism and politics, Dune won the first Nebula Award, shared the Hugo Award, and formed the basis of what is undoubtedly the grandest epic in science fiction.

I first became interested in reading Dune when I watched the Sci-Fi network series.  It was because of this mini-series that I decided that I wanted to read the book.  While I found the mini-series to be quite good, better in fact, than the movie made in the 1980s that I watched after viewing the mini-series.

While I figured the book would be better than the mini-series, I didn’t expect it to be significantly better.  I was pleasantly surprised to find out how much better the book was than the mini-series.  While the mini-series, in my opinion, did a very good job of portraying Arrakis, I thought the book told the story so much better.  Just the writing and storytelling was phenomenal.

When I completed reading Dune, I told myself that I wouldn’t mind reading the other books in the Dune series, I never got around to starting them.  I wouldn’t mind tackling those now, but before I read the second book in the series, I would, of course, read Dune again to refresh my memory, and continue on with the later books.  If I don’t get to them this year, maybe I can make the effort next year to return to the world of Dune.

If you’ve read Dune, or the rest of the series, please feel free to leave some comments and let me know what you think!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

