My 2011 Goals


Wow! 2010 just flew! While I had lofty goals when I started
this blog a year ago, I didn’t quite read as much as I would like.
It was, nonetheless, an exciting year for us. A good chunk of my
free time was taken up by house hunting, the purchase of our first
home, and doing some home improvement projects to tailor our home
for our taste. With a good chunk of that work done, I feel like I
can invest more time with my reading. Initially, I’ve come up with
a list of books that I would like to tackle this year. So here we
go!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

9 Responses to “My 2011 Goals”

  1. Whoa. Those are some heavy duty books…well, except for the Beck, Bush and O’Reilly ;). I actually read the Shirer book back in high school and was one of my favorite books. I hope you enjoy it as well.

  2. I agree, pretty heavy duty. 🙂 I tried to read the Shirer book in high school, but at the time, it was difficult for me to get into it. That was probably because I didn’t have a good working knowledge of German history. After majoring in history in college, and concentrating on European history, I feel I now have the background information to understand and appreciate it a bit more. I got the book from Amazon and it’s thick! I’m really looking forward to starting it. I hope we can discuss it further when I get to it.

    Regarding Beck, Bush, and O’Reilly, I try to keep abreast of the current issues of the day, and try my darndest to read both sides of the spectrum to formulate an opinion. Plus, it gives me a good break from the other books.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Essential Classics – Have You Or Would You Read Them? « Beltwayliterature - February 10, 2011

    […] set as a goal to read this year.  Which, if you haven’t seen that post yet, you can read it here.  That post explains what I’m trying to accomplish with my reading this year and is […]

  2. Choosing Books To Read – How Do You Go About Doing It? | Beltwayliterature - March 5, 2011

    […] my reading took me.  Which, by the way, if you haven’t seen my list, you can view my post of 2011 Goals and my page on the remaining books I’ve chosen to read for 2011 […]

  3. Quarter-Pole Review of My Year In Reading | Beltwayliterature - March 27, 2011

    […] As we reach the end of March, I’m now beginning to notice just how quickly this first three months of the year has just flown by!  The days seem to go by faster each and every year, or maybe that’s just me.  With March coming to an end, I thought I would go ahead and take a look at what I’ve read so far, and how I’m meeting my reading goals that I established back in February.  For a quick recap of my 2011 reading goals, you can review my original post here. […]

  4. It’s Library Time! | Beltwayliterature - April 2, 2011

    […] Pinheads and Patriots by Bill O’Reilly which is on my 2011 goals list […]

  5. Now Reading – Pinheads and Patriots | Beltwayliterature - April 4, 2011

    […] from the library.  As I’ve mentioned, Pinheads and Patriots is a book included in my 2011 Reading Goals.  Here’s what the inside jacket of the book says: When Bill O’Reilly interviewed […]

  6. The Beginning of the Summer Reading Season! | Beltwayliterature - May 29, 2011

    […] put together an in-depth summer reading list, as I’ll be working off my original 2011 Goals list, it should still be a fun summer of reading […]

  7. Midyear Review | Beltwayliterature - July 3, 2011

    […] has flown so far in 2011.  In January, I feel I set a rather short, but ambitious reading list for 2011.  At this point in time, I’ve made significant progress on those books on my list.  As of […]

Leave a Reply

