First Impressions – Grundrisse


This post is the first of something I’m going to try this year, my first impressions of a book as I’m reading.  I would like to try to accomplish this type of post regularly, so we’ll see how well I do this year.

I’m now about 350 pages into Karl Marx’s Grundrisse, and so far, I’m finding it to be very long winded and very much formatted like a diary.  I have also discovered that Marx likes to jump back and forth between topics.  All in all, through the early going, I’ve found the book to be very unorganized and rough.  That would probably be why the cover page is described as pictured:

What Marx has documented isn’t necessarily terrible, and not educational, I can definitely see how these notebooks could eventually become the final, polished product with Das Kapital, which, by the way, is next on my journey.

The book contains an Introduction and Seven Notebooks.  The notebooks are composed of two chapters, a Chapter on Money and a Chapter on Capital.  I have completed the Chapter on Money, and the rest of the book is devoted to the topic of Capital.  So far, Marx has referenced many well-known economists of the day, such as Proudhon, Adam Smith, etc, and has begun to present, and to a certain extent, prove how those theories are correct, or in most cases incorrect.

Surprisingly, the material isn’t very difficult to read at all, it’s just time consuming.  And because it doesn’t have the formatting of a regular book, it isn’t divided into sections very well, so it’s difficult to find stopping points when it’s time for a break.

So far, I’m quite pleased that I’ve undertaken this journey into Marx.  I’m definitely learning a lot, so it will be interesting what the rest of Grundrisse entails.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

