My Thoughts on Dracula


I just finished Dracula a little more than an hour ago, and I must say, how FANTASTIC the book is!  I can’t believe that I didn’t/wasn’t able to read it sooner!  From the writing style, to the characters, story, etc.

Previously I wrote about how readers of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries would find the tale scary, I did in some points.  The settings were described so well that I could actually feel some of the atmosphere.

There were additional descriptions of Dracula than what I posted the other day, but here is one of the most telling, from chapter 21, page 300:

As we burst into the room, the Count turned his face, and the hellish look that I had heard described seemed to leap into it.  His eyes flamed red with devilish passion; the great nostrils of the white aquiline nose opened wide and quivered at the edge; and the white sharp teeth, behind the full lips of the blood dripping mouth, champed together like those of a wild beast.

While reading the book, I really didn’t want to put it down, but unfortunately, had to.  I definitely see the continual world-wide appeal with vampires and the fascination with Dracula.  By reading Stoker’s work, I do have a better appreciation as to how popular these novels have become over time.  Because I have read this novel, I will, at some point, start reading Anne Rice’s novels for a more ‘modern’ flavor on vampires.  However, with that being said, I will not read the Twilight series simply because those novels do not appeal to me.

Bravo!  I highly recommend this novel to anyone looking for a great story.  It’s definitely going to be one that I could see myself reading again a few years down the road!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

3 Responses to “My Thoughts on Dracula”

  1. loved your post, Beltway. I’m inspired to read the novel as well. By coincidence, I’ve also borrowed “Republic” and amm getting set to read it too. Thanks for your devotion to literature… like many of us I am more often distracted by cinema, and sometimes forget the value of the original work. Kudos!

  2. Thanks ylbnoel! I am looking forward to starting Republic later on this evening. It’s tough sometimes to read, and I agree, there are many distractions out there! I took a break for a few months after my wife and I bought a house during the spring, and we had some other things going on through the summer. I’m just glad to be back to a regular reading pace again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vampire Books – Do You Read Them? What’s The Fascination With Them? « Beltwayliterature - February 13, 2011

    […] Stoker’s Dracula, which I read last year.  You can read some of my thoughts in my review of Dracula and additional thoughts here.  Before reading Dracula, I previously read The Historian by […]

Leave a Reply

