My Thoughts On The Essential Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe


Last night I managed to complete my reading of The Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe.  It took me about a month to read this book.

There are definitely some great stories in this collection in this version put out by Barnes and Noble.  I definitely found most of the included stories to be quite dark, and deep.   And as I previously posted, had a hard time understanding.

While I don’t regret having picked up this book, I still feel there aren’t things that I quite got while reading it.  I think, even more so than the other day, that a second reading is probably necessary in the future.

I would be remiss though, if I didn’t point out the tales that I truly enjoyed from this collection:

  • The Murders in the Rue Morgue
  • A Descent into the Maelstrom
  • Never Bet the Devil Your Head
  • The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether

I would also like to point out, this collection also included “The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym,” which I discovered was probably the best piece the editors decided to include.  I was so engrossed with the story, that the only reason I put the book down was to go to bed and work.  I at least highly recommend reading that story.

Overall, I would say it was a very enjoyable experience reading Edgar Allan Poe, and will do so again hopefully to gain a further understanding of his work.  If you’re looking for some deep, dark, reading material, this book is one that won’t disappoint.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

