Am I The Only One Who Thinks Poe Is Difficult To Read?


Am I the only one that thinks Poe is difficult to read?

As I make my journey through The Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe, I’ve been finding it difficult to get through some of the stories.  I managed to finish Poe’s poems without too much difficulty; although, I did find them to be rather difficult to understand.  Something about them that I simply must not quite understand.

I can definitely pick up that these stories and poems are very deep in meaning; however, I simply don’t think I’m enjoying them as much as I possibly can be.  Something tells me that I can’t be the only one that doesn’t quite understand what Poe is getting at in his works.

Not that I don’t mind reading difficult works, I’ve done so in the past, this time though, it just seems different.  Currently, I am on the story “The Sphinx.”  It is one of the last tales in the book before I get to “The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym.”  Maybe Poe is something that needs to be read multiple times to gain a further understanding of his works.  If that is the case, perhaps at a later time, I will pick up this book and re-read it.

Right now, I will continue my journey with Poe and see if I can get a bit more out of it, with what I have remaining to read.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

