Now Reading The Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe


I realize I haven’t posted in quite some time.  It’s been an awfully busy summer, and I did manage to complete reading Marx’s The Communist Manifesto.  For my next book, I have decided to read some Poe.  It’s something different from what I normally read, and thought I would go ahead and explore an author I don’t have very much exposure with.  I’m reading the Barnes and Noble Classics version of the book.  Here’s what the back of the book states:

Creator of the modern detective story, innovative architect of the horror genre, and a poet of extraordinary musicality, Edgar Allan Poe remains one of America’s most popular and influential writers.  His tales and poems brim with psychological depth, almost painful intensity, and unexpected flashes of dark humor and irony.

This anthology offers an exceptionally generous selection of Poe’s short stories.  It includes his famed masterpieces, such as “The Murders in the Rue Morgue” and “The Purloined Letter,” featuring Poe’s great detective, Dupin; his insightful studies of madness “The Black Cat” and “The Tell-Tale Heart;” “The Gold-Bug,” his delightful exercise in “code-breaking;” and important but lesser-known tales, such as “Bon-Bon,” “The Assignation,” and “King Pest.”

Also included are some of Poe’s most beloved poems–haunting lyrics of love and loss, such as “Annabel Lee;” nightmare phantasmasgorias, such as “The Raven;” and his grand experiment in translating sound into words, “The Bells”–as well as his novella “The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym.”

I’m looking forward to an interesting journey into the world of Edgar Allan Poe.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

2 Responses to “Now Reading The Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe”

  1. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Leave a Reply

