Teaser Tuesdays – Don Quixote


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.  Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!  (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away!  You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser comes from Miguel de Cervantes’s Don Quixote, page 306:

Dorotea hearing this information, put on her veil, and Cardenio withdrew into Don Quixote’s bed chamber. Immediately the whole company, announced by the innkeeper, entered in the inn-yard, and the four horsemen, who were persons of genteel mien and carriage, instantly alighting, went to help the lady from her horse; when one of them, taking her in his arms, placed her in a chair that stood by the door of the room, in which Cardenio had concealed himself.

Please feel free to leave yours in the comment section!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

5 Responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – Don Quixote”

  1. Wow…Don Quixote. That is on my list to read. Well done on taking it on.

    Click HERE for my teaser.

  2. I read a short, “children’s version” of Quixote when I was about twelve. I’ve always wanted to read the whole thing, but just never have had the nerve to dive into it. One of these days, though. Great teaser! Here’s mine.

  3. Ooh, I must read that again… I think there’s even been a new translation since the only time I ever did! 🙂

    My teaser’s at http://hampshireflyer.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/teaser-tuesday-8/

  4. nice idea ! here’s mine, from “Game Change” by Heilemann and Harperin, page 171 :
    “THE CLINTONS DIDN’T KNOW what to think. After all the confidence that stirred before Christmas, their post-holiday return to Iowa brought a familiar disquiet. Outside a church in Indianola one frosty morning, Hillary made a surprise visit to her press bus, bringing the reporters hot coffee and bagels, making a joke at the expense of her spokesman, expressing her sympathies with those who were away from their “significant others” — and was greeted with stony silence. “Why do they hate me so much?” she asked one of her aides plaintively afterward.”
    will read Don Quixote when I get the chance. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Been a good while since I read a version of this book. I hope that you enjoy your book. Here’s My Teaser

Leave a Reply

