My Thoughts On The Grapes of Wrath


My apologies for not posting anything for awhile, it’s been an awfully busy month outside of reading.  Early this week, I managed to complete reading John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath.  I must say, while I definitely get the point that Steinbeck is clearly making in this novel, I wasn’t particularly engrossed with the novel.  I’m not sure if that has something to do with the fact that I disagree with a lot of the social arguments that I think Steinbeck is making, in particular, how much greater good a collective society can achieve.  Or maybe it was the depressing outlook that I thought was depicted throughout the novel.

Maybe that’s part of the reason why this book took a little more perseverance to get through.  As I was getting to the last 3-5 chapters, I found it increasingly difficult to find any motivation to finish this book.  I usually don’t get that feeling for too many books, but this novel was one of those rare cases.

But I suppose one of things that really grabbed my attention was the ending.  There wasn’t a sense of finality in this book.  It seemed to me that Steinbeck just left things hanging.  To me, the ending left me grasping for straws.  I didn’t quite understand what Steinbeck was getting at, and maybe that pretty much sums up my experience.  While I clearly got what statement he was making, the story, in my opinion, didn’t live up to the hype.

As a result of this experience, I don’t really see myself tackling any of Steinbeck’s other novels, simply because I didn’t enjoy The Grapes of Wrath as much as I was expecting.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

