Final Thoughts On The Divine Comedy


Wow!  I can’t believe I actually made it through Dante’s The Divine Comedy.  What a rewarding experience!  I’m so glad I decided to tackle such an interesting and difficult piece of literature/poetry.  My first foray into poetry couldn’t have been better.  By far, it is one of the most challenging works I have ever undertaken.  Would I do it again?  Absolutely!  However, with one caveat.  I didn’t realize that I probably should’ve read a few other works prior to tackling The Divine Comedy.

For starters, I probably would’ve read Homer’s Illiad and Odyssey.  Additionally, I probably should’ve read Virgil’s Aeneid, and Ovid’s Metamorpheses.  Had I read these prior to tackling Dante, I probably would’ve gotten a better understanding of the references to these pieces of work.

As a result, I will tackle these pieces of work later on down the road.  I highly recommend The Divine Comedy to those who are interested in religion, politics, and philosophy.

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Aeneid – Another Unread Book On My Bookshelf | Beltwayliterature - March 12, 2011

    […] The reason why I was, and still am, interested in reading The Aeneid is because Virgil is Dante’s guide for the first two canticles of The Divine Comedy.  The Aeneid was also referenced many times, along with other works of antiquity, and I felt that I wasn’t well equipped with the particulars and felt at a bit of a disadvantage.  You read my brief thoughts on The Divine Comedy here. […]

Leave a Reply

