The Purgatorio – Final Thoughts


My final thoughts, now that I have completed my journey with The Purgatorio, are wow!  It took me longer to read this canticle than it did The Inferno.  While I enjoyed The Inferno, there’s something about The Purgatorio that really piques my interest.

It seems like something is missing from it though, something that’s right on the tip of my tongue that I can’t quite grasp.  I’m wondering if my journey through The Paradiso will close some of the holes that I have with this canticle.

At times, during my reading, I felt that I needed to beef up on a lot of my Italian history to fully grasp the complete historical significance of the work.  Similarly, I felt the same as I completed The Inferno.  I’m also willing to bet that I’ll have the same feeling as I’m working my way through The Paradiso.

I have found The Purgatorio to be not only a religious statement, but one of politics as well.  I can’t help but think that Dante wanted people to get more than one message from his Comedy.  Perhaps, I will have more of an understanding when I complete the epic.

All-in-all, a very enjoyable experience.  While I am not much of a poetry reader, I have found this foray into poetry to be enlightening, and I hope to retain that opinion as I move on to the final canticle in Dante’s epic.

If you have read The Purgatorio, or even the entire Divine Comedy for that matter, and if you feel so inclined, feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My More Difficult Reads – To Date « Beltwayliterature - February 20, 2011

    […] Most of the posts deal with The Purgatorio, but you can find my final thoughts on that canticle here.  You should also be able to easily find the multitude of other posts on this canticle using the […]

Leave a Reply

