Map of Purgatory/Topics of Discussion

According to Dante, Purgatory is a mountain created by the fall of Lucifer from heaven when he betrayed God.  Purgatory also sits on the direct opposite side of hell.  For those that have read The Inferno, know that in Canto XXXIV, Virgil and Dante exited Inferno to the other side of the planet by using Lucifer’s legs.

Purgatory is composed of nine distinct areas, and are covered in certain cantos.  Seven of those areas are terraces, and those terraces represent the seven deadly sins.  These areas of Purgatory will serve as the basis of my discussion throughout reading The Purgatorio.  Those sections are:

  • Cantos I-IX:  Ante-purgatory
  • Cantos X-XII:  Pride
  • Cantos XIII-XIV:  Envy
  • Cantos XV-XVI:  Wrath
  • Cantos XVII-XVIII:  Sloth
  • Cantos XIX-XXI:  Avarice and Prodigality
  • Cantos XXII-XXIV:  Gluttony
  • Cantos XXV-XXVII:  Lust
  • Cantos XXVIII-XXXIII:  Terrestrial Paradise

At the conclusion of my journey through Purgatory, I will discuss my overall impressions/review of the work.


About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: