The Sunday Salon

So Long And Thanks For All The Fish


Or is it?  After blogging here for almost two and a half years, a lot has happened, both with my reading and personal life.  The biggest thing being my first child on the way.  But I also like to think I’ve grown as a reader too, whether it had been the first year of blogging reading Dante’s The Divine Comedy, or with last year my year of reading Marx, with my completion of Das Kapital.

So you may be asking, what does that mean?  Does that mean it’s the end of me blogging here at Beltwayliterature?  If that is the thought that’s going through your mind, I only have one thing to say about that, and that is:

That’s right, don’t panic.  At the turn of the year, I was toying with the idea of some changes to Beltwayliterature, from not only a design standpoint, but maybe even a content standpoint.  From a design standpoint, I realized I have been limited here at wordpress.com by paying for premium upgrades, and I didn’t completely own my content.  After doing some research, I discovered, for about the same price, I could self-host Beltwayliterature for about the same price.

So that means, starting tomorrow, Beltwayliterature will be self-hosted at http://www.beltwayliterature.net.  This change will be an exciting one.

What does that mean from a content standpoint?  I’ll still be my good ole self, and will keep on reading classics, modern-day works, biographies, etc.  I’ll still be blogging about what I think about what I’m reading, just simply in a different location.  I will also be endeavoring to be a bit more thoughtful and more in-depth with my thoughts on particular books.

All content, minus this post, has been transferred to its new location, but I’ll keep this site up and running, just to be, you know, kind of nostalgic.  Being the student of history that I am, I like to keep records, and to see where things have been, and where they’re going.

Aside from this major news, I’ll still be reading The Maltese Falcon and Bleak House.  After my Caps were eliminated last night from the chase for Lord Stanley’s chalice, I’ll have a bit more free time on my hands to get some extra reading in.  How about you, what do you have on tap for the week?  What do you think of my news of moving Beltwayliterature?  I hope everyone has a great Mother’s Day, and a big happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there, who have a big hand in making us who we are today!

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

8 Responses to “So Long And Thanks For All The Fish”

  1. About your news of moving to a self-hosted site: Sucks ;).

    No, just kidding. That’s awesome and I love the new design.This is great news. A new baby and a new site….only seems apropos.

  2. Ooh, don’t forget to change your feed on your new site.

    • Thanks for pointing that out to me! I had no idea the feed hadn’t been updated. I had to go back in and set it up again. It certainly was a bit confusing to setup in the first place!

  3. Congrats to moving to a new site. Love the new site design.

    Unable to subscribe at the present time; please let people know here when we can.

    Have a good Sunday :)

    • Thanks! I think I’ve got it all squared away now. I was having some technical difficulties, i.e., user error :-), ensuring the feedburner stuff was setup appropriately. You should be able to access the link now! I hope you have a great Sunday too!

  4. I might have to get feedback on how the whole self-hosted thing works. I did buy the .com for one of my sites that I’m using as a website. Self-hosted might offer more, but then…what would be the downside? Isn’t there always a downside?

    Thanks for visiting my blog…and enjoy your week.

  5. Good luck with the new site, looks good. Too bad about the Caps, argh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

