The Sunday Salon

Entering The Home Stretch


As I wake up to another beautiful late Spring Sunday morning here in Northern Virginia, I take a look at my reading accomplishments in April and I realize that it’s not overly all that exciting, and I really didn’t get too much accomplished.  That’s okay though, as I realize we’re entering the home stretch with my wife’s pregnancy.  We’re less than seven weeks away until the baby arrives and it seems like I still have quite a bit that I need to get accomplished.

Last weekend, as I wrote about, I managed to survive a weekend with the in-laws in town.  This past week, I did manage to get a bit more reading done, but I’m hoping to find some time this month to get quite a bit more done, while getting as much accomplished at home as possible.

I’m planning on completing my reading of Charles Dickens’s Bleak House, Aristotle’s The Metaphysics, and start and finish Hammett’s The Maltese Falcon, a book my brother chose for our reading group.  If I can manage to get those books completed, I very well may get started on George R.R. Martin’s A Clash of Kings.

I would be remiss this week, if I didn’t take a moment to talk about my Washington Capitals.  I did invest quite a bit of my free time in watching hockey this week.  I watched a game on Monday evening, which the Caps won, a game on Wednesday, which went into triple overtime and was a heart breaking loss at home.  And of course, yesterday’s victory late in the third period.  I’m certainly hoping my guys can wrap up the series on Wednesday and advance to the next round!

What are you looking at reading this upcoming week and month?

About Jeremy

Husband, book lover, Civil War Buff. If I could read for a living I would, but unfortunately, it doesn't pay the bills!

6 Responses to “Entering The Home Stretch”

  1. Oh, the home stretch! Sometimes those last few weeks can seem endless! But what a prize at the end of it all. Enjoy!! You’ll probably not sleep much afterwards…lol

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Since I loathe both the Boston Bruins and NY Rangers, I have been cheering for the Caps. And if the Flyers and Caps make it to the Eastern Final, I will be cheering for the Caps.

    • I certainly hope the Caps can beat those pesky Rangers. After last night’s game though, I’m not too overly confident. The nice thing is, it looks like the Flyers might be eliminated this evening!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

